Goodbye is the hardest - Reisverslag uit Houston, Verenigde Staten van Rolf Piepenbrink - WaarBenJij.nu Goodbye is the hardest - Reisverslag uit Houston, Verenigde Staten van Rolf Piepenbrink - WaarBenJij.nu

Goodbye is the hardest

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rolf

15 Mei 2016 | Verenigde Staten, Houston

The last few days... The last few days passed surprisingly fast, unfortunately. It was a rather calm week at the office, everyone was doing their job, well almost everyone. Some were working on some kind of side project unrelated to work, while others were testing or developing software to be tested.

Tuesday wasn’t too bad, the day at the office was okay. Sjoerd and I were invited by a colleague to have dinner at his place. So we went there shortly after we left the office. Once at his place we met his wife, two young kids and two small dogs. He introduced us to his collection of America’s proud: guns. They were locked up in a safe, luckily. Imagine what could happen if one of the two young children gets their hands on one of the weapons… The shooting range was closed due to the floods of a couple of weeks ago, otherwise he would have taken us there. After having some time at his place we went back to ours.

Wednesday was short. There was hardly anything to do as several people were absent. Therefor Dan and I left the office a bit earlier. He wanted to go to a restaurant near the house he used to live. We were kindly let in by the waiter, who was trying way too hard to get a good tip. Dan and I ate crawfish, which I had eaten a couple of days before too, but these were better. It wasn’t lunch though as noon had passed already, so it was more like a postponed lunch.

As it was quite a humid hot day, Dan invited me to go the pool, but I had no idea he meant the pool at his girlfriend’s apartment. When we got there I saw her and, who expected this, her mom sitting near the cool water, while there was someone else splashing in the water, it was the young girl! She wanted us to throw some sinkable rings in the pool so she could pick them up. Instead of going underwater, she cleverly picked them up with her foot. Anyway, as she was done swimming, we went to the apartment and sat on the balcony talking about whatever we talked about. As it was time to go back to Dan’s, I thanked them and waved goodbye. However, as my trip almost came to an end, this was the last time I could see Dan’s girlfriend, her daughter as well as her mother. Such amazing people! It was definitely a great time and I’m glad I have met you! And thanks for the hotdog by the way.

Thursday was short as well, for me at least. All my tasks were finished. There was still a very important Texan thing to be done, or to be eaten: steak! So Dan and I went to CostCo to buy them. Then we went to his place to season them and let them rest for a couple of hours. Dan’s secret magic trick for marvellous steaks made them even better. At the end of the day at the office, we invited Sjoerd to come over and enjoy the large steaks too, which he did, of course.
While Dan was preparing the steaks, I made the guacamole(which I will definitely make again in the Netherlands). Sjoerd brought some side dishes. We chitchatted and enjoyed our meals, it was a wonderful evening. Merrick, the dog, on other hand didn’t enjoy it so much, what an unfortunate time for him to be sick, he didn’t even eat the leftovers… He’s doing better now, luckily.

That was the last evening of my work experience.

The last morning was spent at the office, as it was Friday again, the day someone brings breakfast for everyone at the office. Tacos once again! I enjoyed my last hours at the office. A while later Dan, Sjoerd and I and a couple of colleagues headed out to have lunch, instead of the ‘ordinary’ food, we got sushi, which was good. We took our time, but eventually we went back to office. Sjoerd and I didn’t go back to work, but to say goodbye. Thank you for having me at StarTex!
We went back to the car, Dan came along. I put my luggage in Sjoerd’s car as Dan couldn’t make it to the airport. So that would be the last time to see him, there, in the parking garage near StarTex. I thanked him deeply for his hospitality, his kindness and for making my experience a once-in-a-lifetime one.

This wouldn't even have been possible without the first steps. Thanks Sjoerd! And thank you for coming along!

We caught our plane at the airport and went back to the Netherlands. I left America with very mixed emotions, I wanted to stay, but also wanted to go home.

This is by far the most amazing trip I have ever experienced!

Saying goodbye is hard, but I'll try.

Goodbye y’all! Goodbye Houston! Goodbye Texas! Goodbye America!

I want to thank everyone for making my trip unforgettable!

But Dan in particular.
Thanks for the amazing ribs, the tasty chicken and the shrimp salad, the excellent guacamole, but above all: the marvellous Texan steak. Thanks for playing Connect4, which I have become significantly better at. Thanks for being a koalified host (that’s the joke you tried to remember ;) ). Thanks for being a friend! Thanks for everything!

It wouldn’t have been the same without you allowing me to stay for two weeks.

Goodbye mate!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Rolf

Actief sinds 22 April 2016
Verslag gelezen: 843
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2944

Voorgaande reizen:

28 April 2016 - 13 Mei 2016

Work Experience Houston

Landen bezocht: