The first days - Reisverslag uit Houston, Verenigde Staten van Rolf Piepenbrink - WaarBenJij.nu The first days - Reisverslag uit Houston, Verenigde Staten van Rolf Piepenbrink - WaarBenJij.nu

The first days

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rolf

29 April 2016 | Verenigde Staten, Houston

28-04-2016
This is my first time in the United States! After a long flight of roughly ten hours and a couple of hours waiting for the strict border control I have finally arrived in Houston, together with Sjoerd. He will basically be my 'guide' through Houston, through him I got the opportunity to stay at StarTex Software for two weeks.
Anyway, once we left the airport, Sjoerd drove me through Houston, there were so many differences already. The cars, the roads, the driving style of the Americans... even the toilets or doorknobs, but the weather as well, fortunately. It was quite hot actually, like 30 degrees Celsius (87 degrees Fahrenheit) or so.
Once we arrived at the destination I met my host Dan in person. He is basically an easy-going Aussie with Dutch roots who migrated to the US. He got us both dinner as he had prepared a lot of chilli with nachos, it was unlike anything I have eaten before, but it definitely was delicious.
I can't wait to go to the office, but let's get some sleep first....

29-04-2016
This is the first full day of my work experience. I didn't sleep very well, due to the jetlag, but it won't be a problem in a couple of days. So, once at the company I got to know a lot of new people, everyone seemed eager to do their job: developing software for the petrochemical industry. The day at the office kicked off with the weekly breakfast, this time it was wraps, with a fruit salad to keep it balanced.
During the day I was intoduced to some of the general software used by the company, and what the employees do daily which is basically creating and improving their products. I was told that this day wasn't the most productive one of the week, but it's Friday, so that explains a lot there will probably be done more work next week hopefully to get to know exactly what is usually done at the company. Everyone went home around five, ready to enjoy the weekend.
Dan and I went back to his place, but before that we did some groceries in one of those huge supermarkets. Once at his place, we prapered dinner, which was pork tenderlions with a special Texan twist. After that we looked up some activities to do during the weekend, which I will tell about in the next update :)
Have a great weekend!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Rolf

Actief sinds 22 April 2016
Verslag gelezen: 180
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2960

Voorgaande reizen:

28 April 2016 - 13 Mei 2016

Work Experience Houston

Landen bezocht: